Farewell to Malcolm Craddock

Malcolm_surveys_the_outgoings
Malcolm Craddock 1938 -2015

Funerals, I have never liked having to attend. As a child I was not permitted to go to them, for a multitude of reasons and not the usual reasons children were not allowed to attend funerals.

These days it’s because of the march of time and with each passing its a reminder of the finality of the human condition, that I am (whatever people say) getting older.
On these occasions I feel the burden of the years that I have under my belt.

Today it was for Malcolm Craddock the producer who gave me my first (and some might say only) break casting me in the female lead of Ping Pong (1986) Directed by Po Ch’ih Leong. Would I get a similar break actually I am unsure at beat and at least doubtful to the point of thinking if Ping Pong were being cast today I would not even get a look in at the preliminary casting.

I didn’t know Malcolm well  – time and twenty odd years ago work (yes I did actually have almost consistent acting work then) got in the way. Though he did come to see  the first Joint Stock Theatre show Child In The Heart and left a wonderful note for me at the stage door.

Malcolm was a lovely man and I regret that circumstances meant I did not get to know him as well as I would have liked. But he saw in me potential, ability and raw talent. It’s a pity that what Malcolm started has not continued.  I suspect that Malcolm would see it as me not yet having (had the luck) to meet more Malcolms along the way. Who knows maybe I will, one can always hope.

6f8dfbdebb3607843c87f7f9d87e672b.wix_mp
David Yip and Me between takes on Ping Pong shoot in China Town

Rest in peace Malcolm and thank you

